Photo: Henrik Jauert

ARKEN is a private Foundation.

The museum’s ultimate authority rests with the board of trustees which comprises six members.

In addition, the museum staff has elected two non-voting representatives to the board.

The board is appointed every four years.

The day-to-day management of ARKEN is in the hands of director Marie Nipper.

Board of Trustees


Former Director Eva Hofman-Bang

Deputy chairman

Rector Hanne Leth Andersen

Board Members

Mayor Merete Amdisen
Professor Henrik B. Andersen
Nordic Director Lars Kirdan

Non-voting staff representatives

Technical Assistant Kim Jeilman
Art Educator – outreach & community building Gunnar Munksgaard


Marie Nipper

Museum Director,  Mag. Art.
ARKEN Museum of Modern Art, Ishøj

Marie Nipper, who graduated as Mag. Art. in Art History, has been Director of Copenhagen Contemporary since 2018, and previously served as Artistic Director and Senior Curator at Tate Liverpool, as well as Senior Curator at ARoS in Aarhus. Marie Nipper also serves on the board at organisations including Tivoli A/S and Bikubenfonden. Over the past two decades, Marie Nipper has been behind a large number of exhibitions featuring Danish and international artists, and has initiated major collaborative projects with institutions in both Denmark and abroad. Most recently, she was behind Copenhagen Contemporary’s most successful exhibition to date, Light & Space.


Marie Nipper. Photo: Petra Kleis