ARKEN celebrates its 25th anniversary with a new presentation of highlights from the museum collection. And you are invited.

22 April 2021 to 2 January 2022


Ugo Rondinone, where do we go from here?, 1999. Photo: David Stjernholm

Gudrun Hasle Im not god inof, 2018. Photo: David Stjernholm

At the end of the rainbow is a pot of gold, or so they say. When ARKEN collects Danish and international contemporary art, we embark on a ceaseless quest for the very best – for ‘gold’. ARKEN’s major anniversary exhibition is a vast pot full of art treasures selected for the museum’s permanent collection because they stir up our senses, promote play and interaction and inspire us to think about our own lives.

Throughout its 25 years, ARKEN has focused intently on contemporary art that addresses the great questions and deep dimensions of human existence. What does it mean to be human, how do we live our lives together, and what fundamental preconditions do we have for navigating our way through life? What are we striving for? Where are we going, and what are we hoping for? Like the elusive rainbow forever moving ahead of us, there are always new modes of expression and artistic approaches to explore.


The world and the life that contemporary art speaks to us about never stand still.


The anniversary exhibition is presented in the museum’s most distinctive space: the 150-metre-long Art Axis. Here you can explore some of the very best works of art from the ARKEN collection. You can let your mind wander as you gaze upon gossamer, crumpled-up silks, lose yourself in a glass pavilion with treacherous mirror walls or embark on a wild journey through a plethora of artistic interpretations of the human form. Let your body, senses and mind experience art at full blast.

The exhibition presents works by Jean Arp, Lars Arrhenius, Nina Beier, Marius Bercea, Peter Bonde, Peter Linde Busk, Marlene Dumas, Olafur Eliasson, Elmgreen & Dragset, Günther Förg, Cyprien Gaillard, Dan Graham, Tue Greenfort, Katharina Grosse, Stella Hamberg, Gudrun Hasle, Jeppe Hein, Henrik Plenge Jakobsen, Sophia Kalkau, Clay Ketter, Abdoulaye Konaté, Thorbjørn Lausten, Marie Lund, Astrid Myntekær, Kirsten Ortwed, Grayson Perry, Lea Porsager, Marc Quinn, Kirstine Roepstorff, Ugo Rondinone, Thomas Ruff, David Schnell, Tove Storch, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Fredrik Værslev, and Ai Weiwei.